Hunger Games Tastes Weird

I know we’re coming off some heavy stuff, and you think I’m slightly deranged, but I had to record this somewhere before I forget, because it is too amazing not to.

As mentioned in my “About Molls,” and as most of you know due to the fact that I’ve only shared this with people I know (still working on whole following other blogs bit), I’m a teacher. That felt weird to say…

Weird because it hasn’t been too long. I just finished my student teaching in December, and I am now job hunting/interviewing. Hence why I have time to make a blog and look at kitten pictures. So anyway…I did a little substitute teaching at the school I had formerly student taught at, despite my pride telling me not to, and trust me, Bill Cosby had it right…kids really do say the darn-dest things…

So of course I was grilling the students on all things English teacher: What do you like about English class? What don’t you like? Why? Explain, give evidence, and interpret. And it always leads to “What do you like to read?” I hold my breath and hold my ground in a staring match as 90% of the time they say “nothing, I hate reading” and another cuddly kitten in my soul dies. Every hour wounds, the last kills…

I got especially lucky this particular day and roughly 3 of the 12 students revealed to me their literary pursuits. As expected I got the usual post-apocalyptic/fantasy/sci-fi responses (excluding that one time I heard “50 Shades” and a whole litter of kittens died in my soul). I’d say 75% of the only 25% of high school students that read outside of the classroom are more of my fellow nerd types, and I love them for that. But where was I? Ah, yes. So, I begin to interrogate the students on their chosen texts, noting a few but mostly looking at them with genuine admiration; a look that says thank you for being you. Per usual one chap really takes over while the other two talk among themselves.

And then it happens. I hear it. Or did I? I ask for clarification from the two girls talking about The Hunger Games. Peeta. Michael Cera. Come again? What is Peeta (who I can legally say is attractive) and Michael Cera (who I can also legally say is attractive, in a strange way)  doing in the same sentence. Ready for it? “When I was reading the book I pictured someone who looked more like Michael Cera than the guy they chose, that Hutcherson guy.” My eyes widened and I got a full ab work out as I attempted not to let out what I knew would be uncontrollable, uncomfortably long laughter.

I don’t think there is much more to say here folks. Picture Michael Cera tossing bread in the rain, kissing Jennifer Lawrence’s all-holy lips, or my favorite, disguised as tree bark in the mud until he is found by Katniss. Only in the classroom can this organic, uninhibited humor occur. I leave you with the following…

Image

” I remember the first time I saw you. Your hair was in two braids instead of one. I remember when you sang in the music assembly and the teacher said “who knows the valley song” and your hand shot straight up. After that, I watched you going home everyday. Everyday. ”

…Wait, didn’t he actually say this to Norah in “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist?”

~~

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

